CM Security Antivirus and AppLock are one of the best apps out there when it comes to Android security. The app has gained a lot of praises, both from IT experts, as well as common users. Personally, I have tested the app previously for the best antivirus apps for Android list. I remember liking the one-touch interface of the app very much. Just like any other great Android app, CM Security Antivirus and AppLock tend to be on the simpler side. Usually, when it comes to choosing an antivirus app for Android, people are a bit skeptical. Personally, I don’t use an antivirus app on my Android smartphone or tablets. I’ve never gotten a malware virus on my devices. The art of knowing a genuine link from a malicious one can be learned over time. However, if you want to keep your Android safe without being a security guard, CM Security Antivirus and AppLock will do a fine job. Let’s see what this app has to offer.

The First Run

The app took some while to download on my Samsung Galaxy Note 3 smartphone. I blame the jittery 3G connectivity I had at the moment. However, once installed the rest of the ride was smooth. Something I really liked about CM Security Antivirus and AppLock right away was the lack of any forced logins. I despise having to give my email address to an app that, quite frankly, don’t need them

There are no tutorials to be found on the app. This is probably because CM Security Antivirus and AppLock is one of the simplest apps you’ll ever get to use on Android. There is an easy one-tap functionality available in the app.

The First Scan

The main screen of CM Security is well designed. Taking up a large part of the screen is a big bubble button that allows you to scan your device. If you are running this app for the very first time, you will see a caution mark with suspicious written next to it. Don’t be alarmed, this is the standard procedure the app follows on every device that has yet to be scanned.

Pressing the large scan button will start the scanning process. The scanning screen is a little bit flashier than I anticipated. The app took very little time to scan my device that was surprising. I know 32 GB is not that much space, but still the app took surprisingly little time to sort through everything on the phone.

Depending on your device the app will find problems that need to be resolved. In the case of my smartphone, the device found 4 potential dangers. One was a browsing history problem in Chrome, others were with the privacy settings, and the last one was an ad.

The Dirty Job

To be quite honest, none of the “dangers” are actual dangers to my device. The Chrome privacy settings are just a simple history remover. And the privacy issues with the apps were trying to promote the app locker that comes with the app.

The MMS Stage fright malware is an actual thing, and the app promises you to save your device from it. In my experience if you don’t click on any link that pops up, you will be fine.

The app also comes with a junk cleaner. This cleaner detected I had almost 1 GB of useless data on my smartphone. Because I test around 20 to 30 apps daily, this wasn’t much of a surprise. Many of the apps leave behind residual data that isn’t deleted when the app is removed. CM Security Antivirus and AppLock cleared around 0.98 GB worth of space. This feature alone deserves a run if you decide to get the app.

CM Security Antivirus and AppLock comes with very minimal options for customization. The app also periodically downloads updated virus definitions. Downloading the updates is one of the most important things you need to do when you run the app.

The App Lock

One of the most sought after features of CM Security Antivirus and AppLock is the reliable app locker. It works flawlessly and can help you password protect important apps. The lock feature will come in handy when you have sensitive information on your smartphone or tablet.

You can activate the lock feature by bulk selecting multiple apps and choosing a unlock method.

The app also comes with a snooper catching feature. It works well and can help you know who wanted to access your information.

For example, I set the lock on my Gallery, and when someone tried to guess my password, the app captured a snapshot from the front camera. This method works great because a user is usually looking at the screen when typing. Almost every time the face will be in focus. I selected the numeric code as my method of securing apps. You can also use the pattern lock if you want, but I believe remembering a number is much easier. The app successfully locked my Gallery and asked for the password whenever I tried to access it. However, to relock the apps you will need to lock the screen. Otherwise, the apps will remain open for the duration of the phone screen being unlocked.

One potential flaw I found in the app, is that when I deleted it, the app lock was no longer there. There has to be a way to failsafe against this workaround. I have emailed the developer about it and will update if I receive a reply. Otherwise, you can just hide the CM Security Antivirus and AppLock from your app drawer and call it a day.

Conclusion

CM Security Antivirus and AppLock is a nifty little app that can do a lot of things for you. From protecting your smartphone to locking apps behind a security code, it is capable of doing many wonderful things. However, one feature stood out prominently to me. The junk removing feature works extremely well and keep your internal storage space clean. I hope this article will help you in making a sound decision about using this app. If you have any questions or problems, feel free to share them in the comments below.

Exploring CM Security Antivirus and AppLock  Android    Safety First   JoyofAndroid - 93Exploring CM Security Antivirus and AppLock  Android    Safety First   JoyofAndroid - 77Exploring CM Security Antivirus and AppLock  Android    Safety First   JoyofAndroid - 7Exploring CM Security Antivirus and AppLock  Android    Safety First   JoyofAndroid - 93Exploring CM Security Antivirus and AppLock  Android    Safety First   JoyofAndroid - 92Exploring CM Security Antivirus and AppLock  Android    Safety First   JoyofAndroid - 44Exploring CM Security Antivirus and AppLock  Android    Safety First   JoyofAndroid - 81Exploring CM Security Antivirus and AppLock  Android    Safety First   JoyofAndroid - 33Exploring CM Security Antivirus and AppLock  Android    Safety First   JoyofAndroid - 30Exploring CM Security Antivirus and AppLock  Android    Safety First   JoyofAndroid - 84Exploring CM Security Antivirus and AppLock  Android    Safety First   JoyofAndroid - 5Exploring CM Security Antivirus and AppLock  Android    Safety First   JoyofAndroid - 80Exploring CM Security Antivirus and AppLock  Android    Safety First   JoyofAndroid - 23